Virtual Event: “The Ghost of Iraq’s Marshes”

Virtual event: 7pm Cairo | 5pm London | 12pm New York | 9am BC Canada

Join us for a virtual book talk with Steve Lonergan, and Jassim Al-Asadi, authors of The Ghosts of Iraq’s Marshes: A History of Conflict, Tragedy, and Restoration  (AUC Press, 2024).

Steve Lonergan, professor emeritus in the Department of Geography at the University of Victoria, Victoria, BC, Canada, and former director of the Science Division at the United Nations Environment Programme, and Jassim Al-Asadi, Iraqi engineer and environmental activist who was born in the marshes of southern Iraq, will be in conversation with Hassan Partow, manager of the Disaster and Conflicts branch in The United Nations Environment Programme. Meridel Rubenstein, a professor of Art, Photography, and Ecology, an adjunct professor at the School of Sustainability at Arizona State University, and director of the Eden in Iraq Wastewater Management Project, will moderate the talk.

The Ghosts of Iraq’s Marshes is a compelling account of the devastation and subsequent resurrection of Iraq’s southern marshes, an environmental treasure of the Middle East, now a UNESCO World Heritage-protected site. This book paints a vivid picture of the struggle to conserve Iraq’s marshes, which are among the world’s most unique and endangered ecosystems. Often referred to as the “Garden of Eden” or the “Cradle of Civilization,” these marshes serve as habitats for countless species of flora and fauna. Yet they have faced severe threats due to decades of environmental degradation and political turmoil.

Learn more about the story of preserving Iraq’s marshes in The Ghosts of Iraq’s Marshes: A History of Conflict, Tragedy, and Restoration by Steve Lonergan, and Jassim Al-Asadi.

Read the Q&A with Steve Lonergan

Register to attend via Zoom.

The talk will be live-streamed on the AUC Press Facebook Page.